2003-08-22, 2:03 a.m.


QUENTIN TARANTINO: -all right. But it definitely doesn't- but it definitely- I'm not there unless I bring that on with me and make that work inside of the material. If I'm not, then you could just send a robot out there. That's just good acting. That's what you have to do. You can't deny anything, all right. Well, the same thing with me as a writer. If I was writing The Guns of the Navarone, all right, and then right in the- right at the beginning of writing it or in the middle of writing it, I, I, I break up with my girlfriend, who I'm like madly in love with and then my heart is, is, is shattered, all right, that's got to work into it. Now, the story is still about a bunch of commandos going to blow up a couple of cannons, all right-

CHARLIE ROSE: Yeah.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: -but that pain that I'm feeling has got to find its way into the story or else, what am I doing.

CHARLIE ROSE: And translating to writing meaning that whatever you're experiencing as a writer, you've got to put into those characters and you know how to do that.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: Yeah. It's a- well, I mean, that's the thing I think that makes- I mean, that's why when people say, 'Well, you're just making movies about other movies,' I go, 'Well, that's bull.' I mean, to me all my movies-

CHARLIE ROSE: Yeah.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: -are- I mean, I'm using I'm working in a genre, no doubt about it, all right, and I, and I respect the genre, no doubt about it-

CHARLIE ROSE: And what's the genre, in your own definition?

QUENTIN TARANTINO: Well, in, in the ones I'm doing, I'm doing crime films, all right.

CHARLIE ROSE: Okay, crime films.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: And then, like in the case of Reservoir Dogs, that's a subgenre crime film. It's a heist picture.

CHARLIE ROSE: Right.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: A bunch of guys get together and pull a robbery.

CHARLIE ROSE: Right.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: You've seen a bunch-

CHARLIE ROSE: Right, right.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: -kind of movies like that before. And the thing is, though- but I respect the genre and I'm jumping off from it, but to me, all the movies are very personal, all right, when I look at them. And I don't mean like I'm some crook, all right, but the thing about it, though, is like, you know, this group of friends will look at it and be like, 'Oh, Quen, I can't believe you talked about that,' you, you know, you know.

CHARLIE ROSE: Right.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: And this old girlfriend, 'Oh, jeez-'

CHARLIE ROSE: Because they identify with the experience.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: '- Quentin, jeez.'

CHARLIE ROSE: Yeah. Yeah.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: You know, it's like, it's, you know, it's- you should be semi-embarrassed about certain people seeing your movie, I think, when you're finished if you're working on a personal level.

CHARLIE ROSE: Or else the work is not authentic?

QUENTIN TARANTINO: Well, I mean, I don't want to make that blanket a statement, but, but I guess for me, I guess yeah.

CHARLIE ROSE: Yeah.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: Yeah.

CHARLIE ROSE: You're not doing- you're not, you're not extending yourself unless you bring all of that-

QUENTIN TARANTINO: You've got to.

CHARLIE ROSE: -in.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: I mean, you've- basically I mean-

CHARLIE ROSE: Why do you work-

QUENTIN TARANTINO: A writer, a writer- you know, you should have this little voice inside of you saying, 'Tell the truth.'

CHARLIE ROSE: Yeah.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: 'Tell the truth. Tell the truth.' All right?

CHARLIE ROSE: Yeah.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: 'Reveal a few secrets in here.'

CHARLIE ROSE: And the truth is your life experience.

QUENTIN TARANTINO: Exactly. That's the, that's the truth as I know it.

Stolen From Gods Among Directors

Before
After
archives
newest
MurderWorldCast Dear Fuckhead...
Be My Guest Introduce Yourself
profile
notes
design
image cafe
diaryland
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com